2015 Grand Final Results – 12 September at St Marys Stadium

The old cliche “a game of two halves” could not be more apt to describe how both grand finals panned out at St Marys Stadium.

In 1st Division the Norwest Polecats streaked away to a commanding 20-0 lead over the UTS Tigers by half time, dominating their much more fancied rivals. However, the Polecats failed to post any further points in the second half with the Tigers notching up 16 unanswered points and only a desperate Polecat’s on line defence, right to the last minute of the match, saving their day.

Norwest 20 (Tries: Ben Carter, Sean Prior, Shane Brown, Joe Ngawini, Goals: Sean Prior 2) bt UTS 16 (Tries: Dwayne Peters, Matthew Hamilton, Jack Burke, Goals: Mason Farrel, Steve Spilios)

Man of the Match: Shane Brown (Norwest)

The 2nd Division match played out in a very similar manner with Cumberland going to the break ahead 16-0 only to see the Tigers come back to level the scores 16-all midway through the second half. By that stage it looked likely UTS was about to live up to the expectations placed on the Minor Premiers to take out the title, but Cumberland’s “Dad’s Army” had other ideas, eventually clawing their way to a 26-22 win.

Cumberland 26 (Tries: Sid Moussa, Billy Warden, Joe Naddaf, Martin Shina, Eric Katafono, Goals: Sid Moussa 2, Daniel Khoury) bt UTS 22 ( Tries: James Graham 2, Kale Barton-Bissaker, Jake Byrne Goals: Jake Byrne 3)

Man of the Match: Kieran LorraineĀ (Cumberland)

The event was also the occasion for presentation of the competition’s annual awards:

Club Champions: UTS

1st Division Most Outstanding Player: Matt Roberts (UTS)

2ndĀ Division Most Outstanding Player: Jake Byrne (UTS)

1st Division Highest Point Scorer: Steve Spilios (UTS)

2nd Division Highest Point Scorer: Darren Shepherd (UTS)