Tertiary League launches new online presence

Forty-five years since the competition’s inception, the NSW Tertiary Student Rugby League has launched it’s brand new online presence to help take the league into the future.

Starting with a new look Tertiary League website (www.tertiaryleague.com.au), the NSW Tertiary Student Rugby League will be launching a range of new online initiatives to help improve the profile of the competitions and representative opportunities.

Included as part of the new digital relaunch, includes an improved social media presence on Twitter and Facebook, and a range of new club websites which will be rolled out in the coming weeks.

The NSW Tertiary Student Rugby League, the only Saturday open age Rugby League league in the Sydney basin, features teams from Sydney, Newcastle and Canberra, covering the largest geographic region of any amateur competition.

Follow the NSW Tertiary Student Rugby League on Social Media:

NSW Universities Representative Team 2015

The selection trial for the NSW Universities Representative team to play Qld Universities in the annual Interstate Challenge is being held on Sunday 15 March 2015, 9am – 12pm at TG Milner Field (Top Oval), Vimiera Rd, Marsfield.

Players selected in the team will play in the Universities Interstate Challenge match at Campbelltown Stadium on Saturday 2 May 2015.

The 2015 Australian Universities Rugby League train-on squad will be chosen after this match and accordingly a number of conditions apply to any player interested in trialing for the NSW Universities team. These requirements are outlined below and it is important all nominees are prepared to accept them before making application.

For all the information and nomination form click here.


2014 Grand Final Results

The results of the grand finals played on Saturday 13 September 2014 at Henson Park are as follows:

1st Division
UTS 28 (L. Johnson 2, J. Cho, C. Glover, M. Zappia, T. Sarangaya tries, L. Johnson 2 goals) bt Sydney Uni 18 (A. Sarkis 2, S. Tziotis, J. Parker tries, T. McCarthy goal)

2nd Division
UWS 36 (S. Jaidi 2, M. Chokr 2, H. Said, J. Sawtell, A. Arabi, C. Dimmock tries, H. Said 2 goals) bt Sydney Uni 10 (K. Ngati, M. Makk tries, A. Irvine goal)

Results of Preliminary Finals Played Saturday 6 September 2014

The results of the Preliminary Finals played on 6 September 2014 are as follows:

1st Division – at Norford Park, Sefton
UTS Tigers 31 (Lee Johnston, Lindsay Taria, Chris Glover, Michael Zappia, John Stevens, Gethsemane Takau tries, Lee Johnston 3 goals, Michael Zappia field goal) bt Sydney Trains 30 (Floyd Rogers, TJ Taotua, Peter Ralph, Sean McKenzie, O’Neill Anguna tries, Tyson Tietie 4, Nathan Santi goals).

2nd Division – at ANU North Oval Canberra
Sydney Uni Lions 26 (Kingi Agata 2, Marcus McCarthy, Matt Makk, Kurt Lewis tries, Myles Fowler 3 goals) bt ANU Grizzlies 22 (Dean Chapman, Jarred Teka, Jacob Bink, Adam Cavanagh tries, Dave Turner 3 goals)

Results of Semi Finals Played Saturday 30 August 2014

The results of the semi finals played at Norford Park Sefton on Saturday 30 August 2014 are as follows:
1st Division
Major Semi Final: Sydney Uni 26 (A. Sarkis 2, J. Parker 2, K. Nicholson tries, B. Lee 3 goals) bt Sydney Trains 20 (T. Tietie 2, O. Anguna, A. Artsivourtsis, tries, T. Tieitie 2 goals)
Minor Semi Final Final: UTS 40 (C. Glover 2, B. O’Reilly 2, L. Johnson, T. Sarangaya, K. Weston tries, L. Johnson 6) bt Cumberland College 32 (M. Moussa, W. Eldrousi, N. Albornoz, D. Eade, G. Moussa, G. Naddaf tries, G. Naddaf 4 goals)

2nd Division
Major Semi Final: UWS 26 (S.Jaidi 2, M. Chokr 2, J. Sawtell, A.Arabi tries, M.Ckokr goal) bt ANU 6 (B.Nicholson try, C. Barrit-Jones goal)
Minor Semi Final: Sydney Uni 30 (A.Gaudry 2, V.Appleton, R. Manchester, M. Makk, K. Lewis tries, M. Fowler 3 goals) bt Sydney Trains 20 (H. Ali 3, N Santi tries, N. Santi 2 goals)